Skip to content


Our members make us what we are

Multidisciplinary collaborations are fertile ground for breakthrough research

The diversity of our members’ expertise and interests makes the MRCCT an inspiring and opportune environment for innovative research. 

To build on the latest advancements in genomics, the MRCCT brings together expertise in Medicine, Human Genetics, Microbiology and Immunology, Biochemistry and Physiology, Immunology, Microbial Physiology, Microbiology, Bioinformation, Chemistry, Computational Biology, Statistical Genetics, Population Genetics, Mouse Genetics, Immunology, Applied and Translational Genomics, Vaccinology, and Functional Genomics


Jorg Fritz


Dr. Jörg Hermann Fritz, PhD, is a CIHR New Investigator, and an Associate Professor (Departments of Microbiology and Immunology and Physiology). He is an immunologist who trained with Dr. D. Philpott (Institut Pasteur, Paris), and Dr. J. Gommerman (U. Toronto), and who joined the MRCCT in 2010. Research in his laboratory focuses on understanding how tissue homeostasis at mucosal surfaces is regulated in health and disease. A particular focus is given to studies of mucosal pathogens of the respiratory and gastrointestinal system where he is trying to understand how the expression pattern and activity of innate resistance effectors adapts to changes in the tissue milieu due to the availability of nutritional metabolites, the composition of the mutualistic microflora, or infection with pathogens. In this context he is studying the priming and function of innate lymphoid cells and B lineage cells for their role in mucosal immunity instructed to commensals, pathobionts and pathogens. He received a Career Development Award from the Austrian Academy of Sciences in 2008, and a Research Achievement Award for the research publication with the highest impact (McGill University, 2012) and a Research Scholar Junior 1 Award by the Fonds de recherche du Québec – Santé (FRQS).

Silvia Vidal


Silvia Vidal, PhD, is a Professor, Department of Human Genetics, McGill University and an Associate Member of the Department of Microbiology and Immunology, and is Director of the CTG. She holds a Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Host Responses to Virus Infections and is the recipient of the Premier’s Research Excellence Award. She uses mouse genetic platforms to discover and functionally characterize the molecular interface between pathogenic viruses, inflammation and immunity. Her laboratory made inroads in characterizing mechanisms of self/non-self discrimination by NK cells during viral infection and pathways that control inflammatory responses during coxsackieviral myocarditis and influenza pneumonia. She has also developed an internationally recognized program in ENU mutagenesis and infectious diseases. Vidal’s program has spearheaded a number of projects and collaborations with academia and industry at McGill and abroad on gene discovery in human infectious and inflammatory disorders.

MRCCT members by Research Streams

  • Director
    Jorg Fritz
    • Co-Director
      Silvia Vidal
      • Host Microbe Interaction in Health and Disease
        • C. Maurice
          Stream Director
          • M. Olivier
            Executive comm.
            • S. Gruenheid
              • D. Malo
                • S. Qureshi
                  • S. Vidal
                    • B. Castagner
          • J. Danska
            • K. Kain
              • M. Ndao
                • A. Sakuntabhai
                  • E. Schurr
                    • B. Ward
      • Cellular Dynamics of Immune Dys(function)
        • J. Fritz
          Stream Director
          • C. Piccirillo
            Executive Comm.
            • J. Mandl
              Executive Comm.
              • I. Colmegna
                • N. Jabado
                  • A. Nijnik
                    • D. Vinh
          • J. Antel
            • A. Bar-Or
              • M. Georges
                • S. Lesage
                  • S. Turvey
      • Computational and Genomic Medicine
        • D. Langlais
          Stream Director
          • M. Blanchette
            • P. Gros
              • R. Sladek
                • J. Waldispuhl
                  • J. Pelletier
          • P. Awadalla
            • L. Barreiro
              • G. Bourque
                • S. Huang
                  • M. Lathrop
                    • S. Sawcer

Our Members